KittyHere or There, Anywhere

mundane life , two black cats, & other stuff

Pet Remembrance Day 2014

Today being “Pet Remembrance Day 2014″ was brought to my attention by “Under The Oaks… Captures. And A Few Words.”  Her lovely collage of pet photos made me want to dig around to see what pictures I could find.

Many of you know my husband and I share our home with two black cats, Thunder & Lightning.  I found their photos on a Humane Society website only a few days after our beloved Zoe left this world.bye bye zoe

We brought Zoe home from the very same Humane Society a few months after purchasing our first house (the house we are still in nearly 20 years later.)   She was 5 at the time and lived to a very ripe old age of 22 & 1/2.  And her passing was quiet and natural.  She will be in our hearts forever.

HSH z

Zoe is the first pet that  my husband and I shared.

There had been a long gap of living without pets for me until Zoe came along.

consider

At age 5 I moved in with an aunt and uncle, Erma & Billy,  and a cat named Timmy.

There may be a faded photo somewhere of Timmy, but what I do have is a painting, done on a plain piece of cardboard.  It hangs in my den/TV room.  It was painted by another aunt, Ethlyn.  

Timmy was my friend through most of my elementary school years.  He waited for the school bus with me.  He stayed upstairs in my room when I read and studied after school each day.

There were many cats and kittens on the farm with my parents in my earliest years.  But the pet I remember from that time the most is a border collie named Johnny.  A border collie is not likely to ever be an appropriate pet for me again given my lifestyle, but whenever I see a black and white border collie my memory goes back to Johnny and the great affection I felt for him.  Johnny 001  You can identify Johnny no doubt.  I am the little girl in the wagon.  The woman in the center of the photo is my Aunt Eth, who painted the picture of Timmy.  My dad stands at the left with my baby sister Merrillee, and my half-brother Ronnie is kneeling on the ground behind Johnny, the border collie.

Our pets tell the story of our lives don’t they.  My sister & I are the only ones from the photo still living in this realm.

I hope you have been fortunate enough to have a pet or pets in your life, and that you too are prompted to think back and reflect on what they have contributed to your life thus far.

THE RAVENOUSLY DISAPPEARING WOMAN has also written a post for Pet Remembrance Day.  I recommend it, just click on her blog title to view.

Single Post Navigation

16 thoughts on “Pet Remembrance Day 2014

  1. Pets bring so much to our lives! I had no idea that today was pet remembrance day. You’ve inspired me to write about my kitty!

    What a lovely girl Zoe was. She looks like a teddy bear! 22.5 is a good long life, you were lucky to have her for so long. :)

    • Thank you. Zoe was a little ball o’ fluff, never weighing as much as 7 lbs. The vet always said of her that the very petite pets have the longest life span. I like to think the amount of love we gave her figured into the equation too.

      Also thank you for the “pingback.”

      • You’re welcome–thank you for the inspiration. I’ve been wanting to write about Pixie for a while now, but didn’t have the opportunity.
        I’m sure all of the love that you gave Zoe did figure into her long life. What a tiny kitty she was. Pixie was 15 pounds! My gigantic Sophie is 23 pounds, but she’s a tall, long cat!

  2. Kitty such a lovely post! Thank you so much for joining in. I agree little Zoe looks like a fuzzy teddy bear. 22 and half… a good long life. Such a beautiful face Timmy has that your Aunt Ethlyn painted. Love your family picture with Johnny!

  3. Pingback: Pet Remembrance Day 2014 | Under The Oaks... Captures. And A Few Words.

  4. Pingback: Pet Rememberance Day | The Ravenously Disappearing Woman

  5. Family pets are family all the way!

  6. Thank you for this gentle reminder.

  7. ZOE!!! Oh Kitty, I haven’t seen that beautiful fluffy face for so long. It seems like forever ago. *hugs you* Reminds me of my old boy who passed away not too long before Zoe did. I think that’s when we truly became friends, through the passing of our beloved furry ones. She was such a beautiful girl. Nice to see her on your feed again. xoxox

    • It has been a little more than two years. With Thunder and Lightning still in their prime looking back at those pictures reminds how very tiny Zoe was and how her eyes had clouded with cataracts in her later years. Pulls at my heart strings still.

      • I remember when we met she would sleep on her bed most of the day in your bedroom. I always adored that little old lady. Thunder and Lightning are such beautiful sleep kitties and are so different from your sweet Zoe. I kind of like that she will always hold such a unique place in your heart. I still think of my boy and smile…the connection to Zoe makes me think of her every time I think of him. And you…of course. ox

      • You are a kind and tender hearted person. Cat lovers are good people.

  8. so odd. I did not know this until now, but all weekend I was feeling particularly drawn to thinking about my kitties that have passed..

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 99 other followers

