Cereal Snack Mix

The world needs another posting about a variation of Chex/Crispex Party Mix like it needs more armed conflict.   While I will do my very best during the rest of my life to not start any conflict that escalates beyond verbal jousting I am going ahead and posting my favorite variation on this classic.

First the issue of General Mills’ Chex, Kellogg’s Crispex, or a store brand version of these cereals.  I used to use Crispex as it meant buying just one box of cereal rather than 2 or 3 boxes.  Then my husband mentioned the price of a single box of Crispex compared to the other alternatives.  So for my latest batch I used the store brand of rice cereal but bought Corn Chex as there was no store brand of that available.  Basically use a total of 6 cups cereal of any brand & grain combo you wish.

I’ve changed out some other ingredients to suit my taste.  The change of melted butter/margarine to liquids oils doesn’t reduce calories but saves a preparation step & perhaps is healthier.

The change of title from Party Mix to Snack Mix is the simple truth that I rarely throw parties but I snack far more [too] frequently.

RECIPE
Dry ingredients that you may simply dump into a 9 x 13 inch pan (lined with foil if you like)

  • 3 cups Corn Cereal
  • 3 cups Rice Cereal
  • 2 cups Dry Roasted Peanuts (unsalted or lightly salted)
  • 2 cups Parmesan Gold Fish
  • 2 cups Pretzel Gold Fish

Gently toss the above to mix

Liquid seasoning mix (combine in a small jar)

  • 3 TBs Olisana (or light olive oil)
  • 2TBs Peanut Oil
  • 3 TBs Annie’s Vegan Worcestershire Sauce
  • 2TBs Annie Chun’s Teriyaki
  • 1 TB lemon juice (optional)

Shake to combine.  Pour over dry ingredients in pan.  Gently stir to coat  mixture.  Place in a preheated 250°F oven.  Bake for 1 hour, stirring every 15 minutes.  Cool, then store in airtight container.

Portion control, I’m told, is critical. The little 1/2 cup container is considered one serving. Now tell me you would not prefer to eat at least half of snack mix in the green bowl.

Leave a Reply

