Word for 12/5 – North

Carlisle Castle sits on the northern border of England.   When it was first built this region, called Cumberland, was still considered a part of Scotland.  The intention was to claim the area for England, and later it was used to protect the north of England against the continued threat of invasion from Scotland.  We toured the castle on a damp and dreary day that aided the imagination as to what a harsh place it must have been for guards and prisoners (including Mary Queen of Scots) alike.  I would not want to be an Englishman manning these cannons or a Scottish raider with them aimed at me.  My heritage on my father’s side is mainly Scottish but there is a good deal of English blood on my mother’s side.   I am quite sure none of ancestors, however,  hailed from these region.    Good for them & probably for me.

2 thoughts on “Word for 12/5 – North

Leave a Reply

