Word for 12/29 – Scare

I have not been really scared recently.  It took me a while to figure out what to post today, but then it came to me.  It might have been one of the last trips my husband and I took before purchasing a digital camera.  We had done this long rail road trip on vintage equipment where we got in late each night due to equipment problems and were up very early each morning to begin again.  When we had left Prince Rupert by B.C. ferry and arrived in Port Hardy it had been another long day and short night.   I was actually fairly pleased we would have a day on a bus.  But things did not go that well.  The bus had a mechanical problem, and it was a holiday.  In order to keep the bus moving we could not have A/C.  Our bus driver was a kindly older man dealing with a grumpy bunch of travel weary Americans.  But he was doing his best, until he slumped over and the bus started to go off the road.  Well my husband leapt up and took the steering while and managed to apply the brake.  He called back to the rest of the passengers asking for a doctor, no one answered, but in a few seconds a couple of people who had some emergency training came forward.  They were able to take the driver, a good-sized man, out of the bus, and to revive him, although I believe he remained unconscious .  My husband, however, was hesitant to leave his position holding the steering wheel and brake.  Now that is the part of this adventure that was the biggest scare for me.  I so wished someone more mechanically inclined would step forward and figure out how to turn the bus off.  It seemed like eternity before someone who had driven lumber trucks came forward.  My husband wasn’t eager to give up control but I was much relieved once he did.

Not to leave you hanging, everyone on the bus was OK, but the driver did not survive.  I already had a head cold on the bus ride.  I still had it two or three days later when we flew out of Vancouver and back to Montreal.  My ears did not unclog for sometime after landing.  Like I needed another scare to end that trip.  As vacations go that is the one I would never want to relive.

2 thoughts on “Word for 12/29 – Scare

  1. We had one of those “memorable” vacations that we’d like to forget, too. lol Your bus ride does sound a bit scary, and the long days and short nights wouldn’t be much fun for me, I need my beauty sleep! Thankful we lived to blog about it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

