Wacky Wednesday #3 – January 18 is Winnie the Pooh Day

I did not grow up with Winnie the Pooh, either the original A.A. Milne book or the Disney version.  PBS TV’s broadcasting of the BBC sit-com  ‘As Time Goes By’ is where I met the great actress Dame Judi Dench and where I came to associate her, because of her character Jean, with Winnie the Pooh. In the series Lionel, played by Geoffrey Palmer, has given Jean the pet name Pooh because of her love of honey.  How could you not fall for that?

4 thoughts on “Wacky Wednesday #3 – January 18 is Winnie the Pooh Day

  1. My boy was terrified of teddy bears when he was little. He wouldn’t touch them or even look at them, that is, until Pooh Bear came along. My brother bought Colt a soft, cloth (non-fuzzy) Pooh for his second Christmas and that thing didn’t leave his side for years. He was so attached, we actually went out and bought two more of them so I could wash them regularly without depriving him … lol. *sigh* I miss seeing him curled up around that ratty little bear. 🙂

    • How interesting that the non-fuzzy texture of a Pooh Bear appealed to Colt. Having backups to wash was wise.

      I have just the opposite feeling towards real pets: if they are not furry and soft to the touch I am not interested. I don’t even like looking at those really skinny no fur cats.

Leave a Reply

