Cornbread

I have been on a cornbread kick this winter.  The bread pictured above is a Maple Cornbread variation of the Cornbread recipe found on pp. 556-557 of the King Arthur Flour Whole Grain Baking Cookbook.

But I am going to devote the rest of this post to another recipe.

I have always loved cornbread but until sometime last fall I was not happy with the recipes I had tried.  Guess what turned things around for me — the recipe on the back of the Quaker Corn Meal canister called Easy Corn Bread.  I make two or three little tweaks to recipe depending on whether I am making just for myself or to share.  For just me I substitute roughly half of the All Purpose Flour with Whole Wheat Pastry Flour.  I skip the sugar all together and use just a packet or two of a stevia product like SweetLeaf or truvia.  My final substitution is to use buttermilk in place of the regular milk.  I usually bake this recipe in a preheated 8-inch iron skillet.

As you see from the shapes of cornbread above I  am lucky to have a iron cornstick mold that was pasted down to me.  I don’t pull it out all that often as it needs to be really well-greased in order to release the bread.  But it gives eye appeal and a crispy exterior. If you want to do a small cornbread portion then a mini muffin pan works great.  They are very useful for a finger food buffet when split and served with cream cheese and smoked salmon.

6 thoughts on “Cornbread

  1. Oh I love cornbread! It’s so easy to make (essential when it comes to me and baking) and I love the texture of it. Your recipe sounds delicious…I’m sure mine won’t look ANYTHING like yours turn out, but they’ll still be tasty.

    🙂

    • Taste is what matters most. Much of the cornbread in my childhood was made from ‘Jiffy Mix’ but that tastes way too sweet for me as an adult. Besides I like doing the “playing in the sandbox” bit of measuring & mixing ingredients when baking rather than just opening a box. (Unless I’m in a big hurry.)

      • I like that too, the mixing and measuring. I used to make pancakes that way, from scratch…I wonder where I got so lazy! I’m trying this cornbread out on Sunday when my man grills us a nice roast for dinner. Will let you know how they come out!

Leave a Reply

