Music Monday # 9 – Oscar Winning Best Original Songs

I thought I would use this Music Monday post to talk about  the Oscar Award winning songs of the 21st century, but when I looked up the winners of the past 10 years there was only one where I could hear the tune in my head as I read the title, “Jai Ho” from  Slumdog Millionaire – 2008.  But I would not say that “Jai Ho” is really hum-able.   Whether this means the other winners weren’t memorable, or just that I am old & musically out of touch I will let you decide.  (If you are fond of any songs that have won the Oscar Award for Best Song since 2000 I would love it if you posted a comment.)

So I am going back to the 20th century Best Song winners and list the year & title of the ones where the tune jumps into my brain immediately.  I found so many in the 1930s, 40s, & 50s that I have decided to stop with the year of my birth – 1959.

1935 “Lullaby of Broadway”

1936 “The Way You Look Tonight”

1938 “Thanks for the Memory”

1939 “Over the Rainbow”

                1940 When You Wish upon a Star”

                1941 “The Last Time I Saw Paris”

                1942 “White Christmas”

1943 “You’ll Never Know”

                1944 “Swinging on a Star”

1946 “On the Atchison, Topeka and the Santa Fe”

                1947 “Zip-a-Dee-Doo-Dah”

1948 “Buttons and Bows”

                1949 “Baby, It’s Cold Outside”

1950 “Mona Lisa”

                1951  “In the Cool, Cool, Cool of the Evening”

1954 “Three Coins in the Fountain”

                1955 “Love Is a Many Splendored Thing”

1956 “Whatever Will Be, Will Be (Qué Será, Será)”

                1957 “All the Way”

                1959 “High Hopes”

There were only 6 award winning songs between 1934 – 1959 where I read the title and did not have the tune pop into my head.   I made the title-tune association with 6 songs from the 1960s,  7 from the 1970s,  7 from the 1980s, and 7 from the 1990s.

If you want to see the titles of all the Academy Award winning Best Original Songs click here.

3 thoughts on “Music Monday # 9 – Oscar Winning Best Original Songs

Leave a Reply

