Wacky Wednesday # 11 – Registered Dietitian Day

The month of March is National Nutrition Month®  and March 14 has been designated Registered Dietitian Day in 2012.   As an obese person with diabetes that is currently controlled through exercise and diet my Registered Dietitian is very important to me.  Trying to modify my food preferences and eating habits has been a life long struggle.  Because diabetes is a progressive disease medication may become necessary at some point but the more I can do to limit my caloric intake without going bonkers the better.

Those of you who have followed this blog for a while know I love baking, and I love chocolate.  It is nice to be working with a dietitian who says straight out that “chocolate is essential” and helps me work in a small portion of chocolate daily even if I would prefer more.

3 thoughts on “Wacky Wednesday # 11 – Registered Dietitian Day

  1. Sounds like you have a great dietitian! I agree with her too, it IS important to work in the things you love. Food is supposed to be something you enjoy, especially when you work so hard to stay healthy. 🙂

  2. I’m having the same problem with being pre-diabetic. It’s not in my blog because my Mom reads it and I don’t want to hear about how fat I am and get a daily critique of everything I do wrong with my weight. She’s pretty vocal how fat my husband is even though I’ve told her it’s not a topic for discussion and already sends me a ton of E-mails with advice that I don’t want to read.

    I am on medication at this point. The doctor keeps saying “you can get the weight down, just follow Weight Watchers”. If I could just get my weight done, I’d have done it years ago. I haven’t figured out yet now to resolve this.

Leave a Reply

