Thoughtful Thursday # 11 – Luck?

Do you believe in luck?

Yes, I believe in luck.  There have been plenty of times when someone has called me or knocked on my door just when I needed their advice or assistance.  When I was in college and to the point of watering down my shampoo my aunt would somehow just happen to slip a five, a ten, or a twenty into her weekly letter.   I consider that kind of coincidence to be luck.

I know people who work hard, who try to do right by all the people in their lives, who always have the misfortune of a car breaking down, a relative blaming them for the doing enough for them, and on and on.  They seem unable to catch a break.  Their bad luck appears endless.

Do I depend on luck? – Absolutely not.  I figure I need to work hard, make prudent choices, and not push my luck too far in the risks that tempt me***.   I was raised to avoid physical risks and monetary risks.  My temperament made me adverse to conflict with others.  But as I move beyond middle age I have developed the skills and self-worth needed to not give in on things that matter enough to me even if some conflict might be required.  Yet I try to wise in that too, maintaining as much calm and civility as possible .  I feel lucky that the circumstances of my life, both good and bad, have led me to that strength and maturity.

That’s a segue into one of my favorite quotes:

People are always blaming their circumstances for what they are. I don’t believe in circumstances. The people who get on in this world are the people who get up and look for the circumstances they want, and if they can’t find them, make them  ~  George Bernard Shaw (Getting Married)

 

***Yes, items near the top of that risk vs. temptation list are chocolate & quality baked goods.

One thought on “Thoughtful Thursday # 11 – Luck?

Leave a Reply

