Music Monday # 12 – Back in 1966

Back in 1966 the  “Ballad of the Green Berets”  was in the middle of a five week run at the top of the Hot 100 number-one singles chart (March 5 – April 2).  The Wikipedia entry on the song says:

It is one of the very few songs of the 1960s to cast the military in a positive light … The song was written by Robin Moore and Staff Sgt. Barry Sadler, while the latter was recuperating from a leg wound suffered as a medic in the Vietnam War. Moore also wrote a non-fiction book, The Green Berets, about the force. … Sadler debuted the song on television on January 30, 1966 on The Ed Sullivan Show.

I was a six year old at the time.  I remember the song, even though I grew up in a house where the radio was rarely on and no one spent money purchasing records.   Perhaps I saw it performed on The Ed Sullivan Show, as I do have recollections of my uncle watching that program.  And I know I remember the song that preceded the  “Ballad of the Green Berets” on the charts, Nancy Sinatra’s “These Boots are Made for Walkin’“.  I wanted to look like her and to have a pair of “go-go boots.”  Neither of those things were meant to be. (Thank goodness! – now that I have looked at YouTube.)

 

4 thoughts on “Music Monday # 12 – Back in 1966

  1. *giggles* I every gal should have at least one pair of go-go boots in their lifetime 🙂

    I quite enjoy your Music Monday’s…having a background in music that was sooo heavy on the theory, I missed out on learning so much history. These little tidbits are wonderful! xx

    • A grounding in theory is important. My academic music history was purely traditional Western Music history. I get the ideas for 20th century ‘pop’ stuff by goggling ‘date in music history’ and there are several great resources that show up. Then I pick something I feel a connection to. I enjoy it, and the once a week approach makes it stay that way.

  2. I was six the year this was released, as well, but I don’t remember it until I was nine, living on a Turkish military base on the far side of the world from the U.S.A. My inner drama queen was quite moved and touched by this song — it was in my head off and on for months. This is the one song I can support as being about the people who fight the wars, rather than the U.S.’ right to start, prosecute, and win them all!

    • I gave a thought or two before posting. I did not want to churn up bad feelings/political conflict, which is a good part of why I made note of my age at the time.

      Interestingly enough March 19, 1962 marks the release of Bob Dylan’s self titled first album. My recall of Dylan’s music is not of his performances but some of the music of Peter, Paul, & Mary that Dylan wrote. Now Dylan’s music is taught as college courses. But I still don’t relate to that much of it — and I am not a fan of his vocal sound.

Leave a Reply

