Travel Tuesday # 14 – Fish and Seafood in Boston

As the only landlocked state in New England there are not many (any) Vermont restaurants that focus on serving fresh fish and seafood.  So when we make a trip to Boston we want what we can not find at home. Usually that means a meal at one of the Legal Seafood Restaurants.  They are good, moderately price for city eating, but also pretty predictable.  Now my husband loves predictable but me, I like something different now and then.  We had planned on trying Jasper White’s Summer Shack on Sunday.  It did not disappoint and the prices were right in line with what we normally shell out to eat at a Legal location.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I started my meal with one of the blackboard special appetizers, a trio of mini seafood salad rolls, one each lobster, crab, & shrimp.  Very tasty, although I would note that the bread part of the roll was cute but not special –  served cold & dry.  My husband enjoyed his crab cake appetizer from the regular menu that was accompanied by a corn & bean salad.  I ordered the “lazy man” lobster casserole entry which featured the meat of a one pound lobster in a Newburg sauce (?- different from the Newburg sauces of my past), topped with garlic crumbs and cheese.  My reasoning was I wanted lobster but did not want to fuss with the shell but I would not order the lazy lobster again.  There was nothing wrong with it except that it was quite rich (caloric) and the lobster did not need it (OK, me either).  Eating it without splashing sauce, given that the tail & claws were whole was not that simple either.  My husband also select a regular menu item for his main, crisp fried Ipswich whole belly clams with fries and coleslaw.  Now one little oddity occurred with making this order.  The online menu said you could sub sides for $2.  One husband did not want his coleslaw but would have been happy to pay the $2 for broccoli.  Our waiter said he could not sub the coleslaw.  So I piped up that my husband could have the broccoli side I had ordered, and I would take my husband’s coleslaw.    All and all Summer Shack was a nice change.  The decor and atmosphere are casual.  The waiters wear some clever T-shirts:  one said Lobster, oysters, and clams, Oh my”  while another said “We don’t gamble with our clams”.   I am sure we will go back to Summer Shack, but that we will also continue to patronize Legal Seafood too.

2 thoughts on “Travel Tuesday # 14 – Fish and Seafood in Boston

Leave a Reply

