Wacky Wednesday #16 – National Poetry Month

April is National Poetry Month and has been since 1996.  You can find an incredible amount of information by clicking the link above. One of the things I found interesting was that there is a National Poetry Map that will lead you to a page for each state telling you about the poets of the state, poems about the state, and which poets are buried in the state.  Robert Frost is buried in my home state of Vermont, in the Old Bennington Cemetery in Bennington, VT.  I am not sure if I have been there or not, although there are other sites related to Frost even closer to where I live that I have seen.

Last year I posted about my visit to the Sleepy Hollow Cemetery in Concord, MA where the poets Ralph Waldo Emerson and Henry David Thoreau keep company with other famous literary residents along …  So with 12 more days remaining in April you still have time to observe National Poetry Month.  You can check any of the links above, pull a favorite volume off a shelf, or if you are so inclined put pen to paper (or given that it is the 21st century fingers to keyboard — although that doesn’t strike me as too poetic.)

Leave a Reply

