Music Monday – Brahms

Both Johannes Brahms (1833 – 3 April 1897) & Pyotr Ilich Tchaikovsky  (1840 – November 6, 1893) were born on May 7th.  Of the two Brahms is favorite.  My introduction to Brahms was no doubt “the lullaby” sung in English:

Lullaby and good night,
With roses bedight,
With lilies o’er spread
Is baby’s wee bed.
Lay thee down now and rest,
May thy slumber be blessed.

…or a similar translation. Later I would discover his 4 Symphonies.  In college I loved the ‘small’ piano pieces which were not so easy for my less than ample reach to perform.  Then I would hear chamber works by Brahms that may indeed “take the cake” if we are sticking with the birthday theme.

The  Brahms’s Lullaby or Cradle Song is more properly titled  Wiegenlied: Guten Abend, gute Nacht (“Good evening, good night”), Op. 49, No. 4, and was published in 1868.

3 thoughts on “Music Monday – Brahms

  1. My little sister had a teddy bear that played this tune every night as she fell asleep. I can’t help but think of her sweet face when I hear it. ❤

    • She still has the scraggly thing ❤ it's all dented and weird looking now (she's nearing 30) but it still plays. I snuck it in my suitcase when we went to Mexico for her wedding and the two of us fell asleep to it together the night before she was married. (Oh, i'm in tears…thanks for bringing back such a lovely memory Kitty) xx

Leave a Reply

