Thoughtful Thursday # 21 – 1959

What do you know about the year you were born? 

I was born in 1959.  The facts and trivia I am going to share next are from the website BabyBoomers.com.   If you were born between 1946 to 1964 you too can visit that site to find out what happened during the year that you were born.

In 1959 the toy manufacturer Wham-O introduces the “Frisbee”.    On a more serious note Alaska and Hawaii become U.S. states while Fidel Castro wins his Cuban revolution.  The president of the U.S. is Dwight D. Eisenhower and his vice-president is Richard M. Nixon.

The website ThePeopleHistory.com says that in 1959 the cost of a gallon of gas was 25 cents and a movie ticket was $1.00.  Going back to iconic toys Mattel’s Barbie Doll was launched in 1959 with a price tag of $1.29.  (I was never very interested in Barbie but my younger brother was.)  On the international news front the Dalai Lama was forced to flee Tibet and the U.K. granted Cyprus its independence.  Here in the U.S. the Grammy Music Awards were started and NASA introduced their first astronauts including John H. Glenn Jr, and Alan Shepard Jr.. to the world.

And I arrived on October 21st, ten days too early to be a Halloween baby, but ready to take on whatever life had to offer.

2 thoughts on “Thoughtful Thursday # 21 – 1959

  1. Those are two great links! I must admit I wasn’t interested in History before I was a parent. I don’t know if it was my age at the time (mid-twenties) or if it was a new perspective as a parent on the importance of the past.

  2. I’ve seen birthday cards with a list of things that happened “the year you were born.” Interesting to find out just what happened that year.

Leave a Reply

