My room at age ten

Faded yellow flowers on ancient wallpaper, a 'pineapple' walnut full sized bed with handmade quilts. A vanity with 3 mirrored panels plus a large dresser, a hope chest with black padded top. A less aged desk and chair for studying. One window with fluffy dotted Swiss curtains that looks out to the main barn. The overhead ceiling fixture has a pull chain to which extra string and a plastic "Snoopy" has been tied so I find it in the dark. There is an extension cord going out the door so I can have a desk lamp. In this Edwardian era farm house the electric outlets are limited and doors are never closed.

Powered by Plinky

12 thoughts on “My room at age ten

  1. Sounds like a pretty typical room for a young child! You did well with the descriptions – I could easily envision how it looked as I stood in the doorway with you and looked around.

    • Thank you. I enjoyed writing it. I sold that house in 1993, or 1994. I didn’t take photos but images are clear in my mind. The vanity from that room is still in my possession, the rest not.

  2. What a wonderfully vivid description. I could almost smell breakfast cooking downstairs after waking up in your childhood room. I had a giggle at the electrical cord as I stepped over one in my room only moments ago. 🙂

    • I think I have 3 or 4 power strips in my home for computer and a/v equipment but no extension cords between rooms thank goodness even though part of the house I live in now are older than the place I lived in at age ten.

      Don’t you just love decorating photos where everything appears to be cordless?

  3. I had a vanity like the one you describe. That would be nice view out your window. Great descriptions.
    That’s one thing I appreciate about newer homes, multiple outlets. Our house was built in the 1960s and has two not-well-placed ones in the upstairs bedrooms.

  4. Your room sounds lovely. My parents had a bed like yours. My room at ten had cotton candy pink walls and a French provincial canopy bed with matching furniture. My bedding was white with little pink flowers embroidered on it. The floors were wooden, but I had a fluffy pink throw rug. I miss that old room sometimes. I used to pretend that my bed was a covered wagon and that I was Laura Ingalls traveling West. I’d use a jump rope for horse reigns. 🙂

Leave a Reply

