Barter vs Currency

“If the world worked on a barter system, how would you fare? Would you have services to barter? Would you be successful, or would you struggle?”

I believe I would fare well under a barter system. I have experience teaching and working with children. I also enjoy cooking, especially making sweets. I would also enjoy the interaction that a barter system fosters. You mow my lawn, cut back the brush then I give your children piano lessons. You cut and color my hair, I bring you bread and cookies. We form a community with each other more than if we just exchange cash, checks, or plastic.

Powered by Plinky

8 thoughts on “Barter vs Currency

  1. I think you have that barter thought out pretty well. I’m not sure who’d want to barter for someone that does state income taxes though, which leaves me a bit short!

    How have you been? Sorry I haven’t dropped you a note to check in.

    Nancy

    • Things are good but I am spending too much time inside due to the heat. I consider myself an inside person but I would appreciate a couple days in the 70s to weed and just leave the a/c off

      • I wish it would cool off too. The night time lows are still in the 80’s in addition to the obnoxious humidity. Even the herbs are suffering on the deck from all the moisture.

  2. Bartering would be a wonderful way to live…folks sharing their talents…and their lives. We’ve become such an isolationist society…getting moreso by the minute. Thank goodness for blogging. We can connect with like-minded people the world over. ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. I think I would do fine with bartering. I’m a certified teacher grades K-6 and I’ve taken quite a few public relations and writing classes and have professional experience in both. I’m also fairly crafty. Perhaps with all of those skills I could keep and roof over my head and food in my stomach. I’d have to figure out something to trade for cat chow, or my two might attack me! ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

