Out of your reach

Sometime around the age of 8, 9, or 10 I saw a large doll at a store.dutch doll The store imported items from around the world. It would have been in the middle of the 1960s, long before the internet. The store might have been called Imports International. The doll had long blond braids, real wooden shoes, a little white cap and a lovely traditional Dutch dress. The exact details of the dress have faded from my memory. I do remember the price was more than my aunt and uncle were willing to spend. Needless to say my life went on just fine without that doll. I have yet to visit Holland or any other part of the Netherlands. If I do I am sure that doll will be on my mind. Had I received the doll I assume I would have loved her and taken good care of her. But perhaps it was a good lesson. Had I had the doll would the memory be so dear? I think not.

Powered by Plinky

Leave a Reply

